To help improve gameplay, temporary files and data are often stored on your console. Over time, this cached data might become corrupted, which can lead to issues with connectivity, game freezes, or slow or unsuccessful game loads.


A good first step to resolving these issues is clearing the cache on your console. In more extreme cases, it might be necessary to delete saved game data. Follow the steps depending on your platform.

 

PlayStation 4

 

Clearing Cache

The PlayStation 4 doesn't have a specific menu option to clear cache. However, you can force the cache to be cleared by doing the following:

  1. Turn off your PlayStation 4. Do not enter Rest Mode.
  2. Once the indicator light on top of your PlayStation 4 is off and has stopped blinking, unplug the power cord from the back of your console.
  3. Wait at least 30 seconds.
  4. Plug the power cord back into your PlayStation 4 and turn it on.

 

Deleting Saved Game Data

Game saves, player profiles, and other game data is automatically saved in the PlayStation 4 System Storage by default. If you suspect that data is corrupt, you can delete it from your hard drive.


Please note: Deleting saved game data is permanent and cannot be undone. Therefore, it is highly recommended that you back up your saved game data to online storage or a USB storage device before deleting it.

Follow these steps to access the System Storage and delete game data:     


  1. Open the Settings menu at the top of the dashboard.
  2. Select  Storage, then select System Storage.
  3. Select Saved Data.
  4. Choose a game to access the game’s saved data.
  5. Press the Options button and select Delete.
  6. Choose the saved data files to delete, then select Delete.  

 

Xbox One

 

Clearing Cache

Unlike Xbox 360, the Xbox One does not have a menu option to clear cache on the console. Instead, follow these steps to clear cache on an Xbox One:

 

  1. Turn off your Xbox One.
  2. Once the indicator lights on the front of the Xbox One and the console's power brick are off, unplug the power brick from the back of your console.
  3. Wait at least 30 seconds.
  4. Plug the power brick back into your Xbox One and turn it on.

 

Deleting Saved Game Data

Game saves, player profiles, and other game data is automatically saved to the Xbox One hard drive by default. If you suspect that data is corrupt, you can delete it from your hard drive.


Please note: Deleting saved game data is permanent and cannot be undone. Therefore, it is highly recommended that you back up your saved game data to online storage or a USB storage device before deleting it.


Follow these steps to access the System Storage and delete game data: 

  1. From Xbox Home, go to Settings.
  2. Go to System and select Storage.
  3. Select Manage storage on the right-hand side of the screen, then select View contents.
  4. Highlight a game, press the Menu button, and select Manage game.
  5. Select Saved data on the left-hand side of the screen.
  6. Choose a game to access the game’s saved data.


 From here, use the Options Menu to delete files or to view more information about a specific file.